RSS

Got Milk? Don’t Believe the Hype

12 Feb

Word on the street is that “milk does a body good,” but did that ad campaign specifically say it should or had to be cow’s milk? Perhaps it was implied, but I’m of the opinion and research shows that:

  • Cows milk isn’t all it’s cracked up to be… and besides, shouldn’t cow’s milk be consumed by baby cows?
  • After a human mother has finished nursing her baby, something odd happens — a cow takes over! Why is that? This makes us the only mammal on earth that consumes milk in their adulthood, and as a matter of fact, we are the only species that consumes the milk of other species.  *insert blank stare*

image

I know what you’re thinking, here’s yet another super healthy, PETA loving, eco-conscious weirdo trying to tell us that something we grew up on is quite possibly dangerous. On the contrary, I’m by no means employed by the Healthy Police, and my membership in the, “make everyone go vegan or die” club, expired ages ago. My philosophy: If you like it, I love it! But as somewhat of a health food blogger, I like sharing the reasons why I’ve chosen a specific lifestyle or eating regimen, and for those looking for alternatives, it’s my hope that my blog or Pinterest pages can/will provide those suggestions.

So back to the cows… there have been many articles written about the fact that human beings are not designed to drink any milk except human milk. Additionally, not only is consuming dairy products (milk, cheese, yogurt, sour cream, ice cream) not healthy for humans, its not all that fun for poor Mrs. Cow either. Here are just 6 of the myriads of reasons I found why we should eliminate or at least reduce the consumption of dairy:

  1. Cows produce milk for the same reason humans do―to nourish their young, so for ever gallon of milk in your grocers freezer, there’s a calf in a pasteur somewhere thirsty as hell.1
  2. When not on a factory farm (producing milk for other people’s children), cows can live to be 20 years old, but cows used for milk are usually slaughtered for low-grade hamburger meat when they’re around 4 years old.1
  3. There are 9 million cows living on dairy farms in the United States. They spend most of their lives in large sheds or on feces-filled mud lots, where disease is rampant.2
  4. Prominent medical doctors now claim that dairy consumption is a contributing factor in nearly two dozen diseases and ailments in children and adults (i.e. iron deficiency anemia, allergies, diarrhea, heart disease, colic, cramps, gastrointestinal bleeding, sinusitis, skin rashes, acne, increased frequency of cold and flus, arthritis, diabetes, osteoporosis, asthma, autoimmune diseases, etc.).3
  5. If for whatever reason, you still want to consume cow’s milk, you should know that after pasteurization and homogenization, most of the nutrients and benefits of milk are destroyed.4
  6. Contrary to popular belief, drinking cow’s milk is nutrition-less due to modern farming methods. There is evidence to prove that nearly all cows (unless raised by you or a farm you know well) are full of toxins, pesticides, antibiotics, bacteria, and hormones.4

Ok I know what you’re thinking now, so where am I supposed to get my calcium from now that you’ve thoroughly grossed me out and scared me milk-less? Don’t fret; there are tons of alternatives (i.e. almond, coconut, cashew milk) that have all the calcium you need. I don’t suggest the boxed, overly processed variety of these milks either. Recently I’ve begun making my own milk and it’s easy as 1-2-3; processing time takes less than 10 minutes.

Here’s a picture of my process using sunflower seeds. Note I’ve started using a simple strainer instead of squeezing liquid through a nut milk bag (noted in the video below) and it works perfectly:

ImageHere is a “how to” video link by Chef Joy. She shows you two super simple ways that you can make Almond milk. You can use her process with any nut/seed you prefer.

Cartoon Photo Courtesy of Natural News

6 Reasons Courtesy of:

  1. http://www.peta.org/features/dairy-industry-cruelty/
  2. http://health.howstuffworks.com/wellness/food-nutrition/facts/environmental-health-reasons-dairy.htm
  3. http://www.waoy.org/9.html
  4. http://www.onegreenplanet.org/lifestyle/is-cows-milk-meant-for-human-consumption-part-1/
 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2014 in Food, Juicing, Marist IMC, Paleo, Whole30

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Got Milk? Don’t Believe the Hype

  1. alexandrasimonfay

    February 12, 2014 at 2:47 PM

    NEKESHA! I have to give you serious credit for taking the time to make your own milk and for sticking to a belief so entirely. This has to be one of the best posts I have read yet (in true blog, unique voice style). I definitely feel terrible about how so many animals are slaughtered for our consumption, and that we often exploit them for other resources like milk. I recently began buying almond milk but I find that I only like it with cereal and can’t stomach it by the glass. Maybe I will have to start making my own, like you! Anyway, the only opinion I have about cow milk versus human milk is that babies and infants in particular should have human milk (or if not possible, the formulas that have nutrients regular milk can’t offer). It is especially important at a young age to have these essential vitamins and nutrients for proper development.

     
  2. alexandrasimonfay

    February 12, 2014 at 2:48 PM

    Do you think your opinion changes when it comes to kids versus adult and milk consumption?

     
  3. Nekesha (@GreenMile08)

    February 12, 2014 at 4:43 PM

    Hi Alexandra,
    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting this week. Glad you enjoyed the information! I no longer drink the boxed almond milk either and I agree that it does taste weird drinking it without cereal; also it’s a little too thick for me. I prefer cashew milk… I make mine with dates and cocnut butter and it tastes yummy!

    My opinion definitely changes as it pertains to infants and children. I’m a proponent of breast feeding if it’s possible but I know sometimes for various reasons that isn’t an option. I would never advocate feeding a baby milk only produced from nuts and seeds. My own personal preference for my children will be to find an alternative, healthy, dairy/soy free formula that will supply ALL of the nutrients my child needs. I think Jessica Alba has a product line called “The Honest Company” that produces something similar.

    ~Nekesha

     
  4. datecity

    February 13, 2014 at 12:22 AM

    Hi Nekesha,

    I’m impressed with your skills in the kitchen!

    I drink almond milk (preferably the Silk brand), because I am lactose intolerant. It doesn’t come with the thirteen ingredients described in the video, but I’m sure there’s a lot of processing involved to preserve the product. It’s interesting how social media allow us to learn and share new things, as you have done with this post. As technology advances and people become more conscious about their diets and eating habits, do you think it will hinder or improve people’e health and longevity? My understanding is that the more sanitized you are (eg. hand washing), the more susceptible you are to catch germs. I wonder if the same thing applies to the food and drinks we consume — the healthier your eating and drinking habits, the more likely your body is likely to break down??? Just wondering if you’ve came across any information on this as you’ve developed a healthy lifestyle. Appreciate any information you can provide.

    Thanks,
    Aikeem

     
    • Nekesha (@GreenMile08)

      February 13, 2014 at 12:37 AM

      LMAO ummm no the body does not break down from eating healthy. As indicative of the many diseases, ailments and obesity caused by the (over) consumption of over-processed food and relaxed FDA standards we have in this country, eating poorly is the cause of many problems and the cure most definitely isn’t to continue eating poorly. Check out these books: “Wheat Belly”, “Food Rules” and “It Starts with Food” if/when you get a chance!

       
      • datecity

        February 13, 2014 at 12:46 AM

        I’ll start with “It Starts with Food.” According to one reader on Amazon.com, it offers eating tips for athletes to reach their performance goals. And with the spring approaching us, I want to take my outdoor runs to the next level! Watch out, ATL…there’s a beast on the streets! Thanks, Kesh!

         
      • Nekesha (@GreenMile08)

        February 13, 2014 at 12:48 AM

        I have that one as well. It’s a GREAT start. After all this snow clears up, I’m going to get back on my run game too! Lord knows I need to be a better practicer of what I preach!

         
  5. Chris Jennings

    February 13, 2014 at 7:27 PM

    Great topic! I had been strictly vegan for a solid 8 years or so and agree on all accounts when it comes to cow’s milk. There really is no need for it, and you’ll get more calcium from leafy greens than from milk of any type. I’ve been putting off making my own nut milks for a long time, glad to hear you’ve had success with it. Maybe it’s time I give it a shot.

    Curious to hear your opinion on local raw milk? I know that different states have different laws regarding the processing and pasteurization of milk. Here in San Francisco I’ve been seeing more and more people praising raw milk and saying it’s the only way to go and addresses many of the typical factory farm dairy concerns.

     
    • Nekesha (@GreenMile08)

      February 13, 2014 at 8:30 PM

      I haven’t seen or tasted any raw milk. I imagine a trip to my local farmers market will give me greater access to it but I don’t think I would consume it either way. I’m of the opinion that no matter how “raw” the milk is, it’s still just as bad for you if the cow, goat, or wherever you got it from wasn’t fed and raised properly. Plus we don’t NEED it. Like you said, you can get calcium from green leafy vegetables and like I said, there’s so many alternatives and variations of milk that you can get from nuts and seeds, WHY drink the milk of another species in the first place… who started that ridiculous tradition anyways? LOL

       

Leave a Reply

 
Kate from the States

"And then I realized that the best way to learn was through adventure..*"

ThisIsYourConscience.com

Honoring Those Who Display Sense And Criticizing Those Who Have NONE AT ALL

#Get Hooked!

Leave your feelings at the door. . .you won't need them here. . .

ayeshacurry.com

In a world full of dark this is my place to give thanks and share the people, places and things that bring light into my life.

JamesMSama.com

Bringing dignity and integrity back to dating & relationships.

the eff stop

Adventures of a shutterbug

maren ellingboe

recipe developer, stylist, content creator

Fig Jam and Lime Cordial

Living well in the urban village

Elisabeth Akinwale

Athletics, Motherhood and Other SuperFantastic Subjects

